That’s Not a Look, It’s My Face!


It wasn’t too long ago when people came up to me to ask, “Gary, why so moody?”

Actually, there weren’t many people coming up to me… quite simply because of the “look” I was wearing. The problem was… it wasn’t my “look”… it was my FACE!

Seriously, I used to have this deadpan, “expressionless” look on face before I discovered the world of body language! Indeed, I came to realise that my ‘neutral’ expression wasn’t really neutral at all! In fact, many people remarked that I often looked unapproachable! What I felt was neutral, was actually a perceived as negative!

Geez, so much for being ‘neutral’!

Indeed, perception is the key word where interpreting body language is concerned.

A close friend of mine hit the nail on the forehead when he said that it’s important for us to pay attention to the type of body language we’re sending out the people around us… especially to those who don’t know us well enough!

Anyway, for those of you who are interested to find out more about the dynamics of body language, here’s a book I’d recommend:

I think it’s one of the most comprehensive books ever written on body language and it’s layout is extremely user friendly with loads of pictures and explanations! A new language never hurts anybody (until you start abusing it that is)!

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “That’s Not a Look, It’s My Face!”

  1. Hey Trev!

    Thanks once again! I’m glad to learn that you find my posts helpful and how much you like them!

    Feel free to drop me an email or post here should you develop a particular query about public speaking that you’d like to know about. I’ll do my best to address it on the blog so that all of us can get the opportunity to learn from each other!

    In the meantime, I hope you’ll continue enjoying the posts on this blog!

    Looking forward to hearing from you soon!

    Gary

  2. I’m reading that book too and using it to give speeches at my Toastmasters meeting to complete my 3rd CC manual. It is an eye opener and the club is loving it.

Leave a Reply

