If You Have to Face It Someday, Why Not Today?


A friend of my mine from the Toastmasters once shared with me a conversation she had with her son. She was trying very hard to get him to join the Toastmasters Club in NUS when he said, “I don’t want to join it because I don’t want to make a fool of myself.”

Gee… I think there’s a problem with me then because I really enjoy making a fool of myself in at Toastmasters meetings! *winks*

I certainly believe that nobody in the right frame of mind enjoys making a fool of themselves for the sake of it. Even clowns do it for a reason… even then, they’re professional about it!

While I believe that the reason my friend’s son gave for not joining the club was real in its own right, it certainly wasn’t the best excuse he could give to save himself for embarrassment. Think about it, like it or not, he will have to speak in public in future. And like it or not, he will embarrass himself if he isn’t ready or prepared. It’s that simple. There’s no running away from it!

Now I’m not touting the Toastmasters Movement (again) after my last entry. However, I do have this belief that, although I may be terrified of something now, there’s really no running a way from it if the future requires me to face it again.

Since there really is no running away from it, I might as well prepare for it today! In fact, if you really think of it, postponing action now is really a procrastination mechanism which robs you of precious time to prepare for the “real thing”!

Don’t you think so?

Hey, I’ve had communication problems. It had caused me lots of pain, grief and regrets. I saw girls whom I liked but couldn’t do anything about it. I went out with a girl that I liked but couldn’t find the right words and ways to share how I felt about her, us, and myself. The result was painful as I was more of an alien than partner. I’ve seen competitors stand forward, spoke up and took the lead in projects and basking in glory. Everything wouldn’t have felt so bad had the course of action they took not been the same as what I would have chosen had I been the one to lead. Ie: I could have achieved so much more had I had the courage and confidence that came with ability to communicate, influence and inspire…

Indeed, those were opportunities lost forever.

Fortunately for me, those lost opportunities will no longer be mere memories for regret since they now form the basis of my big wake up call… that big kick up my backside which got me started in my journey of self-discovery and learning.

You see, extrapolating my future based on past experiences, it was clear that there’s a high chance that these situations may repeat themselves in future. I could defer action now. But I know there’s a high chance I’ll have to face them again. Therefore, would it be wise for me to wait for the next situation when I’m required to choose between leading and speaking and the deep blue sea to push myself out of my comfort zone?

I think by now, we’d all agreed that by the time we’re REALLY required to take action, it’ll be too late for us to do much.

I believe many of us are aware of what we are good at, and what we aren’t. I think many of us are also aware that there are things we which would really, and I mean REALLY like to do and experience in life. Yet, it’s often our lack of capability or inexperience that prevents us from achieving our goals and desires.

Dear friends, look into the future and ask yourself a question:

If you could do whatever you want to do, what would it be?
What are the obstacles that would stand your way?
What would you have to do to overcome those obstacles then?
Write down the list of things you have to do and;

Get down to doing them now.

Plan. Strategise. And ultimately, JUST DO IT!

If you’ve got to do it someday, why not start today?

Do yourself a favour. Give yourself more time to prepare by STARTING TODAY!

Speak with Passion!
Live with life!

Related Posts: Maybe Someday

2 thoughts on “If You Have to Face It Someday, Why Not Today?”

  1. I completely agree with your views…Only after joining toastmasters I am able to find the lacunas in my communication skills. Indeed knowledge of ignorance is the first and foremost step in the process of acquiring knowledge.
    for that reason I am a proud toastmaster

  2. Hi Deepak (I’m assuming this is your name? =P)

    It’s great to hear from a fellow Toastmaster! It’s delightful too to see that you’ve found the lacunas in the arena communication! Continue to explore and experiment and you’ll find the journey much more enriching, exciting and enlightening!

    Feel free to let me know too if there’s anything you’d like to know about public speaking and I’ll do my best to put up a post of it on this blog!

    Looking forward to hearing from you soon!

    Gary

Leave a Reply

