Get Your First Out of the Way!


A member of my Toastmasters Club came up to share with me a story one day. In his own words, he said, “Gary, I was terrified to speak at first. And I was really horrified when I first served as the Toastmasters for the Evening (Emcee) at another Toastmasters Club. However, after all these months and having gotten more experiences under my belt, I’m feeling so much better now!”

“I now know, it’s all about getting my first time out of the way in order to improve!”

Personally, I’m very proud to hear of his progress and even more delighted to hear how he has benefited from having the courage to take the first step!

Remember:

To Start, You Don’t Have to Be Good. To Be Good, You Have to Start!

Take the leap of faith! If you REALLY want to improve your public speaking capabilities, I’d really suggest you join a Toastmasters Club today! After all, in the words of Public Speaking Champion 2001 Darren LaCroix, it’s all about Stage Time, STAGE Time, and STAGE TIME!

Are you going to that leap of faith today?

Related Posts:

It Just Keeps Getting Easier
You Can Only Get Better

2 thoughts on “Get Your First Out of the Way!”

  1. I personally thought that the second speech was the hardest one. But, Since then I have become very comfortable in front of people. So much so, I’ve decided to take a friend’s advice and start speaking at other clubs where I don’t know anyone, so I can advance my public speaking skills even farther.

  2. Hi Michael,

    I applaud your courage, and would also highly encourage you to seek out opportunities to speak at other clubs! Meet new people and learn from those who’re better than you! That’s one sure way to cut short your learning curve!

    I’m also very glad to hear that you’ve grown to become comfortable in front of people despite the initial jitters! Indeed, the starting’s usually the most difficult period. But just as I’ve said (and as you’ve proven), YOU CAN ONLY GET BETTER! =)

    I found the following quote. Thought you might like it! So, it’s for you!

    “The way to develop self-confidence is to do the thing you fear and get a record of successful experiences behind you. Destiny is not a matter of chance, it is a matter of choice; it is not a thing to be waited for, it is a thing to be achieved.”

    — William Jennings Bryan

Leave a Reply

